Fireworks on the lake have been a huge part of the Big Lake Community every 3rd of July since 1963. This popular annual event is still enjoyed by residents and guests because of the long history of community involvement, which was started by a volunteer firefighter named Lyle Robbins. Proceeds from the fireworks donations pay for the entire fireworks event and provide much needed funding for fire department equipment and training. For the past 54 years the Big Lake Firefighters Association has continued this well-received tradition. Lots of our funding comes from local businesses. Businesses  that donate 1000 dollars or more get 500 wristbands and a banner. Wristbands are your way of showing us that you support us.